37 development areas approved for Oyo state

(August 24, 2016) The Oyo state government has approved the creation of 35 new local council development areas (LCDAs) to accelerate even growth at the grassroots. The Governor, Alhaji Abiola Ajimobi gave the approval.

This followed a motion, entitled: “Need to establish Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) for effective grassroots development”, brought before the House of Assembly, on June 16.

The state’s lawmakers had urged the government to take proactive measures to establish LCDAs to ensure that growth gets to every community.

Chief of Staff to the Governor  Dr. Gbade Ojo made this known while addressing reporters in Ibadan.

He said the approval would give more legal teeth to Oyo State Gazette No. 23, Vol 27 of August 13, 2002, which created the 35 LCDAs, but with a nomenclature of local government areas.

Ojo said the 35 new LCDAs would be distributed in line with the state’s political and administrative zones.

He listed the new LCDAs as: Ibadan Zone 14, Ibarapa zone two, Oyo zone four, Ogbomoso seven, Oke-Ogun eight.

He said the governor had directed the commissioner for Justice to prepare enabling laws as Executive Bill to be presented to the House of Assembly so that the new LCDAs can take off.

“Between 2002 till date, there has been explosion in the demography of each council area to the extent that what was gazetted in 2002 may not be sufficiently representative of the yearning of our people.

“Thus, any council area that needs more may begin to work on memorandum to justify their demands as in no distant future,” he said.

FacebookTwitterGoogle Bookmarks
Pin It